Finneas announces debut album ‘Optimist’
  • Post category:Music
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:08/08/2021
  • Post last modified:08/08/2021
(Credit: Press / Luke Fenstemaker)

Finneas announces debut album ‘Optimist’

    American producer Finneas, most famous for co-writing and producing the work of his sister Billie Eilish, has announced details for his debut solo LP Optimist.

    The announcement also comes with the first preview of the album in the form of the new single ‘A Concert Six Months From Now’. Everything you need to know about Finneas, and everything that distinguishes his solo career from his work with his sister, is right there within the first 30 seconds of ‘A Concert’: acoustic guitar, dry humour, gentle baritone drawl, and favouring of more explicitly rock sounds and style. 

    Much like the material on Eilish’s Happier Than Ever, the lines of ‘A Concert’ illustrate a direct approach rather than being ensconced in froofy metaphor and flowery language. “Your favourite band is back on the road/And this fall they’re playing the Hollywood bowl/I’ve already purchased two seats for their show/Guess I’m an optimist.” Whether his optimism is about finding someone to go with or that the concert will happen at all is up for you to interpret. 

    Despite Optimist being his debut, Finneas is anything but an inexperienced upstart. He’s got a whole boatload of singles to his name, a solid EP from 2019 called Blood Harmony, and some feature work, including a collaboration with Ashe earlier this year. And then there’s the producing and songwriting: Halsey, Camilla Cabello, Tove Lo, Demi Lovato, Justin Beiber, Kid Cudi, and of course Eilish as well. 

    Check out the video for ‘A Concert Six Months From Now’, plus the tracklisting for Optimist, down below. Optimist is set for am October 15 release.

    Optimist Tracklisting:

    1. A Concert Six Months From Now
    2. The Kids Are All Dying
    3. Happy Now
    4. Only a Lifetime
    5. The 90s
    6. Love Is Pain
    7. Peaches Etude
    8. Hurt Locker
    9. Medieval
    10. Someone Else’s Star
    11. Around My Neck
    12. What They’ll Say About Us
    13. How It Ends


      Leave a Reply