Listen to Iron Maiden’s visceral new track ‘Stratego’
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:21/08/2021
  • Post last modified:21/08/2021
(Credit: Alamy)

Listen to Iron Maiden’s visceral new track ‘Stratego’

    Heavy metal legends, Iron Maiden, have released a new single, ‘Stratego’. The track is the second offering from their hotly anticipated upcoming album, Senjutsu. Last month, the band triumphantly returned with ‘The Writing On The Wall’, their first single in six years. In the wake of its release, the band confirmed that their new album will hit stores in September. 

    Written by bass player Steve Harris and guitarist Janick Gers, the visceral track ‘Stratego’ was actually recorded in 2019 at Guillaume Tell Studios in Paris. The song’s visualiser depicts the band’s mascot Eddie, in Samurai battle gear on a red flag. In addition to the new singles, earlier this month, the band released a short film documenting the creation of Senjutsu.

    The movie sees Harris and frontman Bruce Dickinson alongside producer Kevin Shirley discussing the record at the Paris studio. Guillaume Tell also happens to be where the band recorded their last outing, 2015’s The Book of Souls.

    Dickinson says, “It’s been a very, very good experience”. He explains that, “I think this is a better album than Book Of Souls. I really do. I haven’t heard it all back yet because I’ve been in the middle of doing it.” In October 2020, Dickinson teased fans revealing that Iron Maiden was “working together a little bit in the studio” after the band was forced to cancel its ‘Legacy of the Beast” tour. 

    Speaking online, he said, “In the meantime, what are we doing? Well, we’re doing bits of writing.” He finished off. “I’m talking to Steve (Harris). We’ve been working together a little bit in the studio. On what, I can’t tell you, ’cause they’d have to kill me.”

    Listen to the ‘Sratego’, below.


      Leave a Reply