Soft Cell return with first new album in 20 years
  • Post category:Music
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:30/07/2021
  • Post last modified:30/07/2021
(Credit: Press / Andrew Whitton)

Soft Cell return with first new album in 20 years

    Bring back out your feather boas and mascara because it’s party time! Soft Cell have announced a major return: the duo will release a brand new studio album, *Happiness Not Included, in 2022 and embark on a series of shows at the end of this year, which will be their first since the group’s farewell concert at London’s O2 arena in 2018.

    Soft Cell, comprised of singer Marc Almond and keyboardist Dave Ball, last released a proper studio album, Cruelty Without Beauty, in 2002. After another period of dissolution, the duo returned for a final show dubbed “Say Hello, Have Goodbye,” which the two claimed would be their final UK show. That’s obviously all in the past now because the group have gigs slated for Scotland and England in November.

    “In this album I wanted to look at us as a society: a place where we have chosen to put profits before people, money before morality and decency, food before the rights of animals, fanaticism before fairness and our own trivial comforts before the unspeakable agonies of others,” Almond explains in a statement. “But in the album there is also a belief that there is a utopia if we can peel back the layers and understand what really matters.”

    Ball’s take on the new record is far more succinct: “Science fiction stories for the 21st century: recorded remotely during a world pandemic”. *Happiness Not Included is set for a February 25 release date next year. 

    You can check out the album’s tracklisting, plus the band’s upcoming tour dates, down below. And, in lieu of playing ‘Tainted Love’ for the billionth time, here’s ‘Torch’, another awesomely ’80s cut from Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret.

    *Happiness Not Included tracklisting:

    1. ‘Happy Happy Happy’
    2. ‘Polaroid’
    3. ‘Bruises On My Illusions’
    4. ‘Purple Zone’
    5. ‘Heart Like Chernobyl’
    6. ‘Light Sleepers’
    7. ‘*Happiness Not Included’
    8. ‘Nostalgia Machine’
    9. ‘Nighthawks’
    10. ‘I’m Not A Friend Of God’
    11. ‘Tranquiliser’
    12. ‘New Eden’

    Soft Cell November 2021 UK tour dates:

    • 10 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
    • 12 – Manchester, O2 Apollo
    • 13 – Leeds, O2 Academy
    • 15 – London, Hammersmith Apollo
    • 16 – London, Hammersmith Apollo


      Leave a Reply